Support Us


September 14, 2022

HML Directors Awarded the 2022 Women in Architecture Innovator Prize

Alison Mears and Jonsara Ruth Honored by Innovator Award

Architectural Record has announced the winners of its ninth annual Women in Architecture Design Leadership Awards, which seek to recognize and promote notable women in the field across five categories: Design Leader, New Generation Leader, Innovator, Educator, and Activist. Parsons Healthy Materials Labs co-Directors Alison Mears and Jonsara Ruth share the 2022 Innovator Award. We acknowledge and are grateful for the work of the entire HML team and our partners past and present. Their contributions have been instrumental to the Lab’s successes.

Architectural Record has a remarkable 125 history of publishing news, commentary and criticism about the building industry.

“Mears and Ruth are creating resources, educational programming, and innovative housing prototypes for a post-petroleum world.”

HML is pleased to congratulate all the extraordinary women architects acknowledged by the Record this year, including: Hazel Edwards, Monica Rhodes, Jing Liu and Carol Ross Barney.

The 2022 winners were selected by an independent panel of architects including Tomas Rossant of Ennead Architects, Mark Gardner of Jaklitsch / Gardner, and former Women in Architecture winners Stella Betts of LEVENBETTS, Julie Eizenberg of Koning Eizenberg Architecture, and Claire Weisz of WXY Studio.


2022 Women in Architecture Award winners (from left to right) Alison Mears, Jonsara Ruth, Hazel Edwards, Jing Liu, Monica Rhodes, and Carol Ross Barney.

Photo credit Kristen Blush

↑  Glossary